Art Safiental

EXHIBITION

Facebook Instagramm

Learning from the Earth

The exhibition gathers 15 art projects in a time of planetary crisis. From the economic crisis, wars, the pandemic and the climate crisis, it is obvious that humanity and its way of life on planet Earth is at risk.
The works and projects on display in the Safien Valley are commentaries and proposals that critically examine the present and suggest alternatives to current developments and upheavals. They reflect on our relationship with the earth, on what we can learn from it.
Learning from the Earth not only asks us to respond to the climate emergency, the art works also highlight alternative, sometimes forgotten or unlearned, ways in which we can dialogue with and learn from the Earth. The artworks are both campaign, methodology, and intervention.

At their core, the works address issues of sustainability, biodiversity, and nature in general. Issues such as the human-animal-plant hierarchy, holism, and cosmology are also addressed. Common to all is the question of how we can create a more ecological and just future. In addition to formal and site-specific realisations, the works often include procedural, participatory, and transdisciplinary-research components, revealing deeper relationships to systems and phenomena related to the social and cultural aspects of climate change. Learning from the Earth is both an exhibition about change and a catalyst for change.

The exhibition, as well as the accompanying publication, the concurrent Alps Art Academy and ILEA TALKS symposium as well as the ILEA Institute’s ongoing research projects are less about scalability and more about multiplicability. There is no single solution to a problem as complex and multi-layered as the climate crisis. Learning from the Earth reflects this complexity. The exhibition is a call to action, inviting us to respond collectively to a changing world and to engage with visions of the future in all their scientific and artistic ramifications.

Works and projects by: Lara Almarcegui (ES), Badel/Sarbach (CH), Ursula Biemann (CH), Julius von Bismarck (DE), Com&Com (CH), Valentina De Micheli (CH), Saskia Edens (CH), Lithic Alliance (CH/BE), Marcus Maeder (CH), !Mediengruppe Bitnik (CH/DE), Dharmendra Prasad (IN), Simon/Odermatt (CH), Steiner/Lenzlinger (CH), Ben Vautier (FR/CH)

Collateral events and performances by: Klimastreik/Klimajugend / Klima-Stall / Kunst Garage Versam / Haus Gawaling Mathon / HR Fricker & die Post / Sound Kite Ensemble / 507 Nanometer / Safientaler Gespr├Ąche (Oral History)

Curated by: Johannes M. Hedinger

Dates
Exhibition duration: July 2 – October 23, 2022
Vernissage: July 2/3, 2022 (detailed programme online from 1.6.22)
Finissage: 22./23 Oct 2022 (detailed programme online from 1/10/22).
Guided tours: Sunday 24 July, 14 Aug, 18 Sept, 9 Oct 2022 > Info, Registration

The temporary artworks and projects of the 15 art positions are spread all over the Safiental, from Valendas and Versam at the entrance of the valley to Tenna and Safien in the middle of the valley and Thalkirch and Turrahus at the end of the valley. They can be visited free of charge and mostly around the clock. The collateral events and activities, on the other hand, are often limited in time and availability (see details online).
The Berghotel Alpenblick in Tenna serves as an information centre for the exhibition, including an info point, three collateral projects (installation Climate Strike, Audio-Station Safientaler Gespr├Ąche (Oral History) and installation Post Kinderwettbewerb) and two indoor exhibitions (Marcus Maeder, Art Safiental Gallery), organised by the ILEA Institute for Land and Environmental, which is itself located in the house with rooms and residency.

> Artworks (online from July 22)
> Exhibition guide (online from July 22)
> Press release (online from June 22)

Marcus Maeder: ACLA, ecoacoustic observation station and long-term study, ILEA/Art Safiental 2022

Art Safiental

AUSSTELLUNG

Facebook Instagramm

Learning from the Earth

Die Ausstellung versammelt 15 Kunstprojekte in einer Zeit der planetaren Krise. Von der Wirtschaftskrise, Pandemie, Krieg bis zur Klimakrise ist es offensichtlich, dass die Menschheit und ihre Lebensweise auf dem Planeten Erde gefährdet ist.
Die im Safiental gezeigten Werke und Projekte sind Kommentare und Vorschläge, die sich kritisch mit der Gegenwart auseinandersetzen und Alternativen zu aktuellen Entwicklungen und Umwälzungen vorschlagen. Sie denken darüber nach, was unsere Beziehung zur Erde ist und was wir von ihr lernen können.
Learning from the Earth fordert nicht nur auf, auf den Klimanotstand zu reagieren, die Kunstprojekte zeigen auch alternative, teils vergessene oder verlernte Möglichkeiten auf, wie wir mit der Erde in Dialog treten und von ihr lernen können. Die Kunstwerke sind sowohl Kampagne, Methodik und Intervention.
Im Kern behandeln die Werke Themen wie Nachhaltigkeit, Biodiversität und die Natur im Allgemeinen, aber auch Aspekte wie die Mensch-Tier-Pflanzen-Hierarchie, Holismus und Kosmologie werden adressiert. Allen gemeinsam ist die Frage, wie wir eine ökologischere und gerechtere Zukunft gestalten können. Neben formalen und ortspezifischen Umsetzungen, enthalten die Werke oft auch prozessuale, partizipative und transdisziplinär-forschende Teile und zeigen die tieferen Beziehungen zu Systemen und Phänomenen in Bezug auf die sozialen und kulturellen Aspekte des Klimawandels auf. Learning from the Earth ist sowohl eine Ausstellung über den Wandel als auch ein Katalysator für den Wandel.

Die Ausstellung – wie auch die begleitende Publikation, die parallel stattfindenden Alps Art Academy und das Symposium ILEA TALKS sowie die laufenden Forschungsprojekte des ILEA Institutes – befassen sich weniger mit Skalierbarkeit, sondern mit Multiplizierbarkeit. Es gibt keine Einzellösung für ein so komplexes und vielschichtiges Problem wie die Klimakrise. Learning from the Earth spiegelt diese Vielschichtigkeit wider. Die Ausstellung ist ein Aufruf zum Handeln und lädt ein, gemeinsam auf eine sich verändernde Welt zu reagieren und sich mit Zukunftsvisionen in all ihren wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Verästelungen auseinanderzusetzen.

Werke und Projekte von: Lara Almarcegui (ES/NL), Badel/Sarbach (CH), Ursula Biemann (CH), Julius von Bismarck (DE), Buchli/Isenschmid (CH), Com&Com (CH), Saskia Edens (CH), Lithic Alliance (CH/BE), Marcus Maeder (CH), !Mediengruppe Bitnik (CH/DE), Dharmendra Prasad (IN), Simon/Odermatt (CH), Steiner/Lenzlinger (CH), Ben Vautier (FR/CH)

Partnerprojekte: Klimapavillon Safiental / Kunst Garage Versam
Performances, Aktionen: Sound Kite Ensemble / 507 Nanometer
Forschungsprojekte: Safientaler Gespräche (Oral History) / ACLA

Kuratiert von: Johannes M. Hedinger

Termine
Ausstellungsdauer: 2. Juli – 23. Oktober 2022
Vernissage: 2./3. Juli 2022 (Detailprogramm: >Flyer)
Finissage: 22./23. Okt 2022 (Detailprogramm ab 1.10.22 online)
Führungen: Sonntag 24. Juli, 14. Aug, 18. Sept, 9. Okt 2022  > Info, Anmeldung

Die temporären Kunstwerke und Projekte der 15 Kunstpositionen sind über das gesamte Safiental verteilt, von Valendas und Versam am Eingang des Tales über Tenna und Safien in der Talmitte bis nach Thalkirch und Turrahus am Talende. Sie können unentgeltlich und meist rund um die Uhr besucht werden. Die Kollaterialevents und Aktionen dagegen sind oft beschränkt in Zeit und Verfügbarkeit (Angaben online ab Juli 2022).
Als Info-Zentrum zur Ausstellung dient das Berghotel Alpenblick in Tenna, mitsamt einem Info-Point, zwei Kollateral-Projekten (Audio-Station Safientaler Gespräche (Oral History) und Installation Post Kinderwettbewerb) und zwei Indoor-Ausstellungen (Marcus Maeder, Art Safiental Gallery), organisiert durch das ILEA Institute for Land and Environmental, das selbst im Hause mit Räumen und Residency eingemietet ist.

> Kunstwerke
> Infokarte
(Texte & Standorte)
> Katalog
 (online ab Aug 22)
> Pressemitteilung
(lang, deutsch)

Marcus Maeder: ACLA, ökoakustische Beobachtungsstation und Langzeitstudie, ILEA/Art Safiental 2022