Art Safiental

EXHIBITION

Facebook Instagramm

What if? Songs from Tomorrowlands

In the summer of 2024, the voices of thirteen artists will be heard in the Alpine valley of Safiental, located in the Canton of Grisons, Switzerland. Akin to mountaineers calling to each other from mountain tops, the tales of different futures and speculative scenarios will bounce off the peaks and reverberate within the valley, amplifying the visions of these imagined tomorrows. What songs will we hear? And which ones would we like to sing along with?
The Safiental valley was shaped by the Rabiusa River, whose name translates as “raging”, and is now tamed by hydropower. The land, largely cultivated wherever the hillsides are not too steep, is dotted with dispersed settlements. To the north, the valley is bordered by the famous Rhine Gorge, a colossal wound ripped open ten thousand years ago by a landslide. In this landscape, the catastrophic is as palpable as the cultivated. The romantic and the technological meet in unexpected infrastructures.
In the site-specific exhibition What if? Songs from Tomorrowlands, artists react to this territory, looking at the Safiental valley and the Alps as a crucible for human and natural activity. The temporality of the landscape is expanded and connected with other places and times through the resonance of local and global voices, memories, and myths. In this context, “What if?” is more than just a rhetorical question, and songs are not only understood as melodies. They are tools that encourage us to go beyond the familiar and connect to ourselves, all kinds of other living beings, and the environment through new affiliations and identities, shaped by the exchange and transformation of alternative knowledge and stories. “What if” is thus understood as world-making, inviting us to seek collective healing and harmony, driven by the idea that hope is a muscle (Björk) that must constantly be exercised.
What if? Songs from Tomorrowlands refers to a relational point of view: one that listens to the whispers and collective chants from possible futures in a time of multiple choices, crises, opportunities, and catastrophes. Together, we set out to reflect on and act upon the present through the lens of the times to come – by asking ourselves in the future perfect tense (Harald Welzer): “Who do you want to have been? What do you want to have done?” How do we want to be remembered, and how can we become “a good ancestor” (Roman Krznaric)?
The thirteen voices spread across the valley, ricocheting across the meadows, forests, and rocky outcrops, reverberating questions, hopes and fears. This songbook of utopian and dystopian spells is nourished by dreams, imagination, and the speculative worlds of science fiction. In Safiental, the changing mountainous environment encourages us to question our sense of collective belonging and the way we relate to the world around us. Echoing the chorus of this increasingly sticky melody, it prompts us to practice the “What if?”.

Artistic director, curator: Johannes M. Hedinger
Co-Curators: Anne-Laure FranchetteJosiane ImhaslyJoanna Lesnierowska

Works and projects by: Ravi Agarwal & Paulina Lopez (IN, CL) /Paloma Ayala (MX/CH) / Magali Dougoud (CH) / Hemauer/Keller (CH) / Monica Ursina Jaeger (CH) / Vibeke Mascini (NL) / Ernesto Neto (BR) / Ola Maciejewska (PL) / Quarto (BR/SE) / Stefanie Salzmann (CH) / Renae Shadler & Team (AUS/DE) / Andrea Francesco Todisco (CH) / Huhtamaki Wab (JP/UK)

Dates
Exhibition duration: July 6 – October 20, 2024
Opening: July 6/7, 2024 (program online from June)
Finissage: October 20, 2024 (program online from October)
Guided Tours: Dates will be announced in May

The temporary artworks and projects of the 13 art positions are spread across the entire Safien Valley, with a concentration around the four villages of Versam, Tenna, Safien Platz and Thalkirch. The works can be visited free of charge and usually around the clock. A short guide with a map provides the exact locations of the artworks and interesting facts about the exhibition, the individual works, Land and Environmental Art and Safiental. A catalog will be published towards the end of the Biennale.
The Berghotel Alpenblick in Tenna serves as an information center for the exhibition, including an information point, a research exhibition on the biennial (What if? Questions for the future), organized by the ILEA Institute for Land and Environmental, which has its office in the hotel and runs a residency program.

Research projects: ACLA Marcus Maeder / Safientaler Gespräche (Oral History)
Partner projects: Casa d’Angel Lumbrein / Gelbes Haus Flims

> artworks (online from June)
>
exhibition guide (online from July)
>
Press release (online from May)

Art Safiental

AUSSTELLUNG

Facebook Instagramm

Was wäre, wenn?
Stimmen aus der Zukunft

Im Safiental (GR) erklingen im Sommer 2024 die Stimmen von 13 Kunstschaffenden. Ihre Erzählungen von verschiedenen Zukünften und spekulativen Szenarien hallen an den Felswänden des Bündner Alpentals wider und verbreiten sich wie die Rufe von Bergsteiger:innen als Echo im Tal. So werden diese Visionen einer erdachten Zukunft verstärkt – aber welche Stimmen und Lieder werden wir hören? Und in welche möchten wir einstimmen?
Das Safiental wurde durch den einst «rasenden» Fluss Rabiusa geformt, der heute durch die Infrastrukturen der Wasserkraft gebändigt ist. Die Landschaft ist von Streusiedlungen geprägt und wo das Gelände nicht zu steil ist, wird der Boden landwirtschaftlich genutzt. Im Norden wird das Tal von der berühmten Rheinschlucht begrenzt, die einer gewaltigen Wunde gleicht, vor 10‘000 Jahren von einem Bergsturz in die Landschaft gerissen. Das Katastrophische ist hier ebenso spürbar wie das Kultivierte, und das Romantische und das Technische treffen in unerwarteten Infrastrukturen aufeinander.
In der ortsspezifischen Ausstellung Was wäre, wenn? Stimmen aus der Zukunft reagieren Kunstschaffende auf diesen Raum und setzen sich mit dem Safiental und den Alpen als Schmelztiegel von menschlichen und natürlichen Aktivitäten auseinander. Die Landschaft und ihre Zeitlichkeit werden durch den Dialog mit zahlreichen lokalen und globalen Stimmen, Erinnerungen und Mythen mit anderen Orten und Zeiten verbunden. «Was wäre, wenn?» ist hier mehr als nur eine rhetorische Frage und die Stimmen und ihr Gesang stehen nicht nur für Melodien. Sie sind Werkzeuge, die uns dazu ermutigen, über das Bekannte hinauszugehen, eine Verbindung zwischen uns, mit verschiedensten anderen Wesen und mit der Umwelt herzustellen. Sie schaffen neue Zugehörigkeiten und Identitäten, welche vom Austausch und von der Transformation von alternativem Wissen und Geschichten geprägt sind. Die Frage nach dem «Was wäre, wenn?» erhält so eine gestaltende Kraft. Sie fordert dazu auf, kollektive Heilung und Harmonie zu suchen, getrieben von der Idee, dass Hoffnung ein Muskel ist (Björk), der beständig trainiert werden muss.
In einer Zeit der vielfältigen Wahlmöglichkeiten, Krisen, Chancen und Katastrophen lädt Was wäre, wenn? Stimmen aus der Zukunft dazu ein, einen relationalen Standpunkt einzunehmen, an dem verschiedene Geflüster und die kollektive Mehrstimmigkeit aus möglichen Zukünften hörbar sind. Wir regen dazu an, der Gegenwart durch die Brille der Zukunft zu begegnen, indem wir uns der Zeitform des Futur II bedienen: «Wer will man gewesen sein? Was will man getan haben?“ (Harald Welzer). Wie wollen wir in Erinnerung bleiben und wie können wir «gute Vorfahren und Vorfahrinnen» werden (Roman Krznaric)?
Die dreizehn Stimmen verbreiten sich im Tal, ihr Schall reflektiert an Wiesen, Wäldern und Felsen und lässt Fragen, Hoffnungen und Ängste nachhallen. Diese Sammlung utopischer und dystopischer Geschichten speist sich aus Träumen, dem Reich der Imagination und spekulativen Science-Fiction-Welten. Die sich verändernde Bergwelt des Safientals regt uns zudem an, unser Gefühl von kollektiver Zugehörigkeit und wie wir mit der Welt in Beziehung treten, zu hinterfragen. Sie kreiert den Refrain einer sich zunehmend festsetzenden Melodie, der uns auffordert, das «Was wäre, wenn..» zu trainieren.

Künstlerischer Leiter / Kurator: Johannes M. Hedinger
Co-Kuratorinnen:
Anne-Laure FranchetteJosiane ImhaslyJoanna Lesnierowska

Werke und Projekte von: Ravi Agarwal & Paulina Lopez (IN, CL) /Paloma Ayala (MX/CH) / Magali Dougoud (CH) / Hemauer/Keller (CH) / Monica Ursina Jaeger (CH) / Vibeke Mascini (NL) / Ernesto Neto (BR) / Ola Maciejewska (PL) / Quarto (BR/SE) / Stefanie Salzmann (CH) / Renae Shadler & Team (AUS/DE) / Andrea Francesco Todisco (CH) / Huhtamaki Wab (JP/UK)

Termine
Ausstellungsdauer: 6. Juli – 20. Oktober 2024
Vernissage: 6./7. Juli 2024 (Detailprogramm ab Juni online)
Finissage: 20. Okt 2024 (Detailprogramm ab Okt online)
Führungen: Termine werden im Mai bekannt gegeben

Die temporären Kunstwerke und Projekte der 13 Kunstpositionen sind über das gesamte Safiental verteilt, mit Konzentration um die vier Dörfer Versam, Tenna, Safien Platz und Thalkirch. Die Werke können unentgeltlich und meist rund um die Uhr besucht werden. Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Ausstellungsführer mit Karte, welcher die genauen Standorte der Kunstwerke und Wissenswertes zur Ausstellung, den einzelnen Werken, zur Land and Environmental Art und dem Safiental vermittelt. Gegen Ende der Biennale erscheint ein Katalog.
Als Info-Zentrum zur Ausstellung dient das Berghotel Alpenblick in Tenna, mitsamt einem Info-Point, einer Recherche-Ausstellung zur Biennale (What if? Fragen an die Zukunft), organisiert durch das ILEA Institute for Land and Environmental, das im Hotel mit ihrer Geschäftsstelle eingemietet ist und ein Residency-Programm betreibt.

Forschungsprojekte: ACLA Marcus Maeder / Safientaler Gespräche (Oral History)
Partnerprojekte:
Casa d’Angel Lumbrein / Gelbes Haus Flims

> Kunstwerke (ab Juni online)
> Infokarte
(ab Juli online)
> Pressemitteilung
(ab Mai online)