Art Safiental

#1

Facebook Instagramm

#1: Horizontal-Vertical

The first edition of Documents of Land and Environmental is titled Horizontal-Vertical and deals with the issue of the (re)orientation of Land Art in general, and the Horizontal-Vertical in particular.
The canonical Land art of the late 1960s and early 1970s, especially originating in the American South-West, was dominated by vast spaces aligned with the horizontal orientation of the landscape. “The horizontal” became the most significant feature, if not an aesthetic principle, of this art form. If the environment in which art is created dictates its characteristics, what if this state of affairs radically changes? The recent tendencies from the Alpine region evidence that, increasingly, Land Art has been dealing with a reorientation. This reorientation signifies a shift from the familiar horizontal flatness, or an intervention therein, to a peculiar verticality that changes our perceptions, not only of what Land art is or might be, but also of the landscape in which it takes place.

Essays and contributions by Mirja Busch, William L. Fox, Johannes M. Hedinger, Pablo Helguera, Hanna Hölling, Sibylle Omlin, Philipp Kaiser/Miwon Kwon, Lukas Ott / Jolanda Rechsteiner, Jona Felice Pajarola, Emily Eliza Scott, Chris Taylor, Philip Ursprung,  a.o.

The first issue, in 2018, also includes a review of Art Safiental 2016.

ISBN 978 3 909090 94 5, Vexer Verlag, June 2018

Bildschirmfoto 2018-01-13 um 00.25.52

Art Safiental

#1

Facebook Instagramm

#1: Horizontal-Vertikal

Die Erste Ausgabe von Documents of Land and Environmental mit dem Titel Horizontal-Vertical setzt sich mit der (Neu)orientierung der Land Art im Generellen und dem Spannungsfeld der Horizontalen zur Vertikalen insbesondere auseinander.

Die kanonische Land Art der später 1960er und frühen 1970er Jahre, insbesondere jene des amerikanischen Südwesten, wurde von weiten Räumen dominiert, die auf die horizoontale Auseichtung der Landschaft ausgerichtet war. “Die Horizontale” wurde zum wichtigsten, wenn nicht gar ästhetisches Prinzip dieser Kunstform. Wenn das Umfeld, in dem Kunst geschaffen wird, ihre Eigenschaft mitformt, was passiert dann, wenn sich dieser Zustand radikal ändert? Die jüngsten Tendenzen aus den alpinen Regionen zeigen, dass sich Land Art zunehmend mit einer Neuorientierung beschäftigt. Diese Neuorientierung bedeutet eine Verschiebung von der gewohnten horizontalen Flachheit oder einem Eingriff darin zu einer eigentümlichen Vertikalität, die nicht nur unsere Wahrnehmung verändert, was Land Art ist oder sein könnte, sonder auch von der Landschaft, in der sie stattfindet.

Mit Essays und Beiträgen von Mirja Busch, William L. Fox, Johannes M. Hedinger, Pablo Helguera, Hanna Hölling, Sibylle Omlin, Philipp Kaiser/Miwon Kwon, Lukas Ott / Jolanda Rechsteiner, Jona Felice Pajarola, Emily Eliza Scott, Chris Taylor, Philip Ursprung, u.a.

Ausgabe Nummer #1 enthält zudem einen Rückblick auf die Art Safiental 2016.

ISBN 978 3 909090 94 5, Vexer Verlag, Frühling 2019

Bildschirmfoto 2018-01-13 um 00.25.52